Directorate of Public Instructions

Updated on: Apr 17, 2013
The Directorate of Public Instructions Kerala plays key role in overall development of students studying in different schools across the state. The state has grown significantly in last 50 years in the education and became first state in the country to attain one hundred percent literacy. Behind this magnificent success of the state the contributions of the Directorate of Public Instructions Kerala are highly considerable. The Department is headed by the Director. The Director receives assistance from Additional Directors, Joint Directors, Senior Administrative Officer, Senior Finance Officer, Law Officer, Deputy Secretary, Accounts Officers, Deputy Directors, Assistant Directors and other staff in the headquarters. The Joint commissioner, the Secretary, The Assistant Secretary and other staff, located in the Pareekshabhaven, provide assistance in various Government Examinations conducted by the Department.
Administration in Directorate of Public Instructions Kerala

For efficient and effective delivery of education the directorate has District Offices in 14 Revenue Districts. These District Offices are headed by the Deputy Directors. Each revenue district is divided into Educational Districts and further into Educational Sub-Districts. There are 36 Educational Districts and 161 Educational sub-districts in the State. Each District Educational Office is headed by District Educational Officer (DEO) and each Educational Sub-District Office is headed by Assistant Educational Officer (AEO). The DEO is responsible for administration of High Schools, Training Schools and other special types of schools in the Educational District. The AEO is primarily responsible for the administration of all primary schools within the Sub-District.

Contact of DPI Kerala
Director of Public Instruction
Phone: 0471-2325106 / 2324601 0471-2325106
Subscribe to our newsletter